Bookmark this page Print this page

Set-up, Users

To add a new user, starting from the “User Setup” screen, as shown below…

Type (of Durell System)

A combined brokerage may have purchased Durell’s “Complete Administrator”, in which case its users can be set-up to use any of the lesser versions of Durell. For example, the IFAs might prefer to use “Financial Adviser”, while the general brokers might prefer to use “General Broker”, and the bookkeeper needs to see everything via the “Complete Administrator” version. If you originally purchased a lesser licence then some of the Durell versions will not appear in the “Type” drop-down.

All or Adviser (i.e. restrict user to selected clients)

Use the “All or Adviser” drop-down, to select whether this user should see…

If you want a user to be able to login on behalf of two or three specific advisers (i.e. see only these advisers’ clients) you should copy that user’s record the appropriate number of times (via the “Copy user” button), editing each copy to include a different adviser. Subsequently when that user logs in he will be able to select one of the specified advisers from the drop-down list on the login screen.

Member of Groups (for the Distribution of Messages and Diary Appointments)

For larger businesses it will be simpler to send messages to all the members of the “Sales” group, for example, rather than selecting 20 or 30 names individually. To this end you can set-up distribution groups (e.g. “Sales, “Directors”, “Accountants”, “Administrators”, “Trainees”, etc) then allocate group membership to each user name. Note that a user can be a member of more than one group, so for example, the directors could be part of the “Sales” group as well as the “Directors” one.

Click the “>” button to the right of the “Member of Groups” field to set-up your groups… 

Having created all of your user groups, then for each user select the appropriate ones, as shown below, click “OK”, then the red “Floppy Disk” save button 

 

Training Status

Click the “>” button to the right of the “Training Status” field to set-up your training statuses… 

Having created all of your statuses, then for each user select the appropriate one and click the red “Floppy Disk” save button

Disable Login For This User

Tick this box to prevent existing users from continuing to log on, or to disable their user account after they've left your employment.

Access Rights

Each user may be saved with different access rights to the system, such as whether or not they may “Bulk delete” records, as shown above. To adjust the access rights of a user just click and thereby tick the appropriate row and column, then when they’re all set re-save with the red “Floppy Disk” save button. 

Only the system administrator should have access to this screen, so his access right called “User setup” should be set to “All”, while everyone else’s is set to “None”. Similarly only the Life & Investments Compliance Officer should have “All” rights to the “Life & Inv compliance completed”. Typically too, only the owners or accountants should have access rights to allow them to view or edit the accounts. The access levels are…

WARNING! – New access rights do not come into effect until the next time the user logs in

Same Access Rights As & The Set Rights Button

Having set-up many users, you may find after a few months that you want to adjust their access rights. The quickest method is to adjust and save the access rights for just one user, for example FRED, who might be a “General Insurance Trainee”, then find all similar users (e.g. GILL, SANDY, etc) and for each use the “Same access rights as” dropdown to select FRED’s name, after which you should click the “Set Rights” button to copy his rights, followed by the red “Floppy Disk” save button. Typically all users of a given “Training Status” are likely to require similar access rights. 

The Copy User Button

Use the “Copy user” button to copy all of the currently displayed user’s setups ready for a new user name (n.b. these include the current user’s access rights, file-paths, diary & memo settings, client & policy notes settings, and colour preferences). You only need enter the new user’s name and password before clicking the red “Floppy Disk” save button. Note that if the new user has, for example, a different version of Microsoft Word, then you may subsequently have to login with that new user name and edit its file paths (see “Setup, Filepaths”) 

The Training History Button

When dealing with advisers who are also users you should enter their training history via the “Advisers” screen rather than here (otherwise it won’t be linked to policy data and associated KPI reports, etc). Other than for advisers, you may enter each user’s training history, as shown below, via the “Training History” button… 

The Clear Locks Button

While one user is changing a client or policy record it is locked so that other users can’t simultaneously delete it. As soon as the changes are complete the lock is removed. Users should exit from Durell by either repeatedly pressing ESC or repeatedly clicking the “Exit” icon, as these procedures ensure all locks are removed. If a user “crashes” instead, he will terminate the session abruptly, possibly leaving some records locked so that other users cannot get at them. To resolve this click the “Clear Locks” button when the rogue user’s name is displayed. 

The View Password / Hide Password Button

Use this button to display or hide the current user’s password. This is useful if you’re changing a user’s access rights in a location where others can see the screen (and supposedly private password).

Print Button

Click this button to print an A4 page showing all of the current user's access rights.

To Create a User

You are recommended to use the “Copy User” button described above. However you can also create a new user by clicking the “New” or “Starburst” button on the toolbar. Enter the new user’s name, password, set all the access rights, then click the save button. Subsequently you’ll need to login as that user and complete all of his or her other set-ups regarding preferences for the diary, memos, client & policy notes, file-paths, colours, etc. To save time you should consider using the “Copy user” button instead, as described above.

To Delete a User

To delete a user find that user’s name via the “Arrowhead” search buttons, then click the yellow “Bin” button. 

To Rename a User

To rename a user find that user’s name via the “Arrowhead” search buttons, edit it accordingly, then save with the red “Floppy Disk” save button.