Bookmark this page Print this page

Accounts, Period End, Remove Old Transactions

Starting from the “Accounts Menu”…

  • Click the “Period End” button
  • Click the “Remove” tab, and you should see a screen like that illustrated below
  • Select a month from the dropdown
  • Enter a year
  • Click the “OK” button
  • Why Remove Old Transactions?

    This utility removes all completed transactions up to the date specified, which cannot be later than the current financial year’s start (N.B. because the Period End utility only brings forward opening balances at a financial year-end). A completed Ledger transaction is one that is fully reconciled with one or more Cashbook transaction/s prior to the selected date. Cashbook items must similarly be reconciled against Ledger transactions preceding the selected date and additionally be banked prior to it. The process will also remove all bankbook transactions prior to the selected date, and move each Bankbook’s opening balance forward, via an automated journal. Use the “Filter” option under the “Signpost” button in both Ledgers and the Cashbook to check for any un-reconciled and un-banked transactions prior to the removal date before running this utility.

    You are strongly recommended not to run this removal utility unless you have good reason to do so. Firstly there is no need for it, as you can use the filter options in the Ledger and the Cashbook to hide completed transactions. Secondly your ability to produce reports comparing the current year with previous ones will obviously be curtailed, as the old years’ data will no longer exist. Therefore you are advised only to run this utility to remove historic data that is of absolutely no interest, or old data that is adversely affecting the system’s performance.

    Monthly Totals in Nominal Ledger

    The removal utility does not clear any of the monthly totals in the nominal ledger, though if you subsequently regenerate them (i.e. via “Accounts Menu” / “Set-up” button / “Signpost” button / then “Rebuild / Trail & Totals from Ledgers”) the totals will be re-created starting from the month of the first remaining Ledger or Cashbook transaction (N.B. which is bound to precede the removal date). The regenerate utility will also consolidate all journal entries preceding the first remaining Ledger or Cashbook transaction. For example, if the two separate 1998 and 1999 year-end journals between the “Fees” sales nominal and the “Profit & Loss (brought forward)” control preceded this date, the earlier one would be deleted after its value had been added to the later one…

    BEFORE

    Date

    Description

    Debit

    Credit

    Amount

    31/12/1998

    Period end for Fees

    FEES

    PLBF

    4,000.00

    31/12/1999

    Period end for Fees

    FEES

    PLBF

    3,500.00

    AFTER

    Date

    Description

    Debit

    Credit

    Amount

    31/12/1999

    Period end for Fees

    FEES

    PLBF

    7,500.00

    Not Using Bankbooks

    If you’re only interested in commission tracking and have therefore chosen not to use the Bankbook/s, you must still cash-up the reconciled Cashbook transactions before you can remove them. If this is the case, simply run down the scrolling screen, clicking any exclamation mark cash-up icons and selecting “Will be individual item in bank statement” from the resulting menu. This will change each icon to a red spot. Ignore a “tally” (or gate) icon (i.e. means “Will be grouped item in bank statement”) and any transactions with a blank where the cash-up icon should be (i.e. already cashed-up). When done click the “Signpost” button, select “Cash-up to bank/s” then click the “Preview” button” followed by the “Go” button.

    Back-up Before Removal

    Before running the removal routine it is absolutely essential that you take both a full system backup on tape (or other external media) and make a copy of your system’s folder on a hard drive. See the section below on disaster recovery.